Check Yourself Before You Wreck Yourself

Check yourself before you Wreck yourself……….

I had someone say that to me during one of my low points in life. It made me mad. She was right I needed to check myself because I was wrecking myself and others. I was spewing horrible words of hatred from my mouth. I didn’t care who I hurt because I was hurt. My attitude was poor and I did and said a lot of things I still regret to this day.

Anger and sadness can ruin you if you let them.

When you are angry and you forgive someone, you do it because that’s what God says (Matthew 18:21-22) and holding grudges only hurts yourself. It will make you have a bad attitude and you will harm others as well as yourself.

Sadness can cause depression and a bad attitude. You can be hurt, sad and mad at the same time. It can cause you to have a negative attitude towards life and others. There is a time to mourn and a time to laugh (Ecclesiastes 3:4). You cannot let sorrow and sadness rule your life.

Image

What is an attitude?

According the Merriam-Webster.com, attitude is – the way you think & feel about someone or something; a feeling or way of thinking that affects a person’s behavior.

I’ve met several people and know people who have bad attitudes. It can make even the prettiest woman ugly. It makes you not want to be around them. As Christians we are to be Christ like. Even through suffering, loss, anger and a massive amount of followers He never had a bad/negative/poor attitude.

The past few weeks I have had a bad attitude. I am grumpy and irritable. I have had a “Negative Nancy” outlook on everything. I could barely stand myself. I fell last week on the stairs and injured my foot. I was extremely mad and angry. I hate being laid up and not able to get up and go. I was in extreme pain last week and instead of dealing with it the healthy way I dealt with it the grumpy way. I started thinking about my attitude and how I was representing Christ. It made me feel ashamed. I realized that no matter what you go through or what comes your way you can decide how you are going to feel about it and react to it.

There’s a famous quote that says

“…Life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you … We are in charge of our Attitudes.” Charles Swindoll

Image

God’s word says:

Ephesians 4:1-3 “I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called. With all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love; Endeavoring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.”

1 Corinthians 15:33 “Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.”

Phillippians 2:14-15 “Do all things without murmurings and disputings: That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world;”

Proverbs 17:22 “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”

1 Corinthians 16:14 “Let all your things be done with love.”

 

The next time something bad happens and you know you can’t change the situation, change your attitude.

 

ImageImage

Leave a comment