Encourage Yourself

The past two days I have felt so defeated and so discouraged. I’m trying to work on something and it just seems like I cannot get it done. I have never had so many obstacles and hurdles when trying to do something that seems so simple.

Yesterday everything I did just fell apart. I tried to schedule a simple doctor’s appointment and it turned into an hour of getting the run-around. I hung up the phone and screamed and burst into tears. I was so frustrated. I am trying to eat healthy because I’m a little overweight and I need to be healthy! I wanted to try a new healthy recipe I found. Sounds like a great idea right?!

I made a Zucchini pizza last night that I saw on Facebook. It seemed simple enough. I turned it into a 20-minute process of doom. Not simple. I used too much zucchini…so I had to add more eggs. I use non-dairy cheese because I’m allergic to cow dairy. I poured the crust on a greased pizza stone. Put it in the oven so excited to try this carb free pizza!! I checked it after 10 mins…. the liquid from the eggs came out from the zucchini cheese mixture and poured itself on the bottom of my oven and caught on fire.  The liquid mixture still on the stone burnt itself to the stone. The rest of the crust didn’t seem to be cooking.

I made my husband fried chicken. I went to take the lid of the deep fryer off and the handle came off in my hand and the lid went flying. I jumped back 10 feet because I thought for sure hot lava oil was going to splash up at me. After I took the chicken out I topped it with a cheese and bread-crumb mixture and put it in the oven. The cheese mixture slid right off of the chicken. AND it burnt…

Dinner was just another failed effort on my part. I went to the gym after dinner. I’m trying to work up to run/walk a 5k in July. I can run a mile, just not all at once. I ran a half mile without stopping! I was so proud of myself. On the 8th lap, I felt a sharp pain in my ankle that went up my leg to my knee. I was done for the night.

In 2004 I had a part of my fibula removed along with a tumor. My ankle and my fibula no longer connect. This makes the fibula bone push out when I run for long periods and causes me a lot of pain. I get really frustrated with it.

I was so frustrated last night. I was beaten down, disheartened and so discouraged. I just wanted to go to bed and not wake up for a week.

I thought things would be better today. I was wrong. Everything today went wrong or way off course.

I decided that I needed to encourage myself. Sometimes people come along and encourage us but sometimes you have to encourage yourself.

I decided to turn to the good book (the bible) for some encouraging verses. The verses below really helped me.

Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will no set you ablaze.”

Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

John 16:33 ” I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”    Mic Drop. BOOM.

If you’re feeling discouraged today, take a moment to take a breath. Remember who you are in Christ and remember that no matter what comes, don’t worry. Christ has overcome the world!

Lauren Daigle’s song My Revival is a good song to listen to. So is Overcomer by Mandisa.

I hope that when no one is there to encourage you, you can find some encouragement yourself in the good book!

Love in Christ,

Iva Mae

Leave a comment