Quite Contrary… How does your garden grow?

garden

Picture from Garden of Gethsemane June 5, 2017 from my Israel Mission trip

“Mary, Mary, quite contrary” by Mother Goose

Mary, Mary, quite contrary, How does your garden grow? With silver bells and cockleshells, And pretty maids all in a row.

“Mary, Mary quite contrary” is an English poem most of us remember from childhood. I never really understood. Contrary means opposite. This Mary grows silver bells, whatever cockleshells are and pretty maids. (uh what?) This Mary girl, she has some odd gardening habits. I’ll get back to this in a minute (be patient).

I’ve been thinking a lot about Spring with the nasty weather we are having in Ohio. Spring means nicer weather, but it also means that plants will begin growing again. I love looking at flowers, trees, bushes and vegetable gardens. The bright and beautiful colors bring me happiness and joy. Eating the veggies and fruits also make me happy! My favorite food is fruit (next to chocolate).

An apple tree produces apples. An apple tree does not produce watermelon. We know what kind of tree or plant it is by looking at what’s growing on it.

Matthew 7:20 says “Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.”

Jesus isn’t talking about plants when he says this. He is talking about us. What kind of fruit are you growing? Are you growing love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance? Or is your garden “quite contrary” like Mary’s?

Galatians 5:22-23 tells us the fruit of the spirit – what we need to grow on our spiritual trees.

After speaking with someone, or even seeing how someone interacts with others you can tell what kind of tree they are. Before we leave others with a bitter taste in their mouth, let’s make sure we are growing love. I like that love is the first fruit mentioned. If you don’t have love, you will not be able to grow other fruits. 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 tells us that exactly.

1 Corinthians 13:1 -3 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

Without the act of love, charity, we are nothing.

We should show love through our speech and actions. We really need to make sure what we say, is said in love. You can never take back your words.

Check out what the bible says about the tongue.

Proverbs 18:21, 1 Peter 3:10, James 3:8 & Proverbs 15:4

Toby Mac posted a picture the other day and it said” The mouth should have three gatekeepers. Is it true? Is it kind? And it is necessary?”

IMG_0020

I’ve been trying to focus on love recently. Everyday try to focus on love and the other fruit of the spirit will come.

If you’re like me, it may be time to prune and weed.

Remember 1 Corinthians 16:14 “Let all your things be done with charity (love).”

God Bless!

Love from above,

Iva Mae

Save

Leave a comment