When My Heart is Overwhelmed

Psalm 61:1-2 “Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heat is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

Image

 My husband and I have a huge decision before us. We’ve been conflicted in our hearts. The decision isn’t one to take lightly nor is it one to make with haste.

 

 I’ve been praying and diligently seeking an answer. I have prayed a specific way to get an answer. I know God will give us an answer. I am trusting in Him fully. I know he can see things in the future that my mere human eyes cannot.

 

 Sometimes we want things but that doesn’t mean that it what God wants for us. Even when you don’t get the answer you want, still praise God because he has something better or he is keeping you from something that would harm you. He is wonderful, mighty, awesome, all knowing, loving, compassionate, the knower of our hearts desires and the keeper of our lives!

 

I am a clinger… a clinger to God and to specific scriptures in times of trouble. I am clinging to the above scripture. I also have found comfort in the song below.

 

LEAD ME TO THE ROCK – Ricky Skaggs

In seasons of grief,
To my Lord I’ll repair,
When my heart is overwhelmed,
With its sorrows and cares

To the ends of the earth,
To my God I will fly,
Lead me to the rock,
That is higher than I.

Higher than I,
Higher than I,
Lead me to the rock,
That is higher than I.

When Satan the tempter,
Rolls in with a flood,
To drown my poor soul,
From its fountain of good

I will cling to the Savior,
Who humbly did die,
Lead me to the Rock,
That is higher than I.

Higher than I,
Higher than I,
Lead me to the rock,
That is higher than I.

 

Click the link below to hear the song

http://youtu.be/_uIhoQeb6NE

Leave a comment