Purpose – Jesus Knows My Name

I’m glad that I have a savior who knows me when I don’t know myself. He knows my name, the number of hairs I have on my head and he knows my purpose. My Grandma has Alzheimer’s. She has lost who she is, but Jesus knows her and that’s what counts. She asked Jesus into her heart a long time ago. She worked hard taking care of the money for our church. She played the piano for the church and played the piano for The New Jerusalem Quartet. Her purpose was to be a wife, a mother to 3 children, a piano player, a book-keeper, a baker, a grandmother and most importantly a servant of God.

I’ve always struggled with my purpose. I know that God creates each of us with a purpose. I know as a Christian that my purpose is to spread the Gospel of Jesus and help those who are seeking Jesus and those who don’t know they need to seek Jesus, find Him. I’ve asked God, how can I serve you and carry out my purpose? What is my purpose? Can I still reach people after all the sins I’ve done? I don’t know if anyone else has ever felt this way. I’ve felt so low and unable to do God’s will because of past sins. Those negative feelings are lies from the devil. He sticks that nasty little finger in our minds and starts stirring up all these ideas so that we will be distracted from what God wants us to do. He enjoys seeing us feel unable, unworthy and afraid. He wants us to think we have no purpose. He has come to steal, kill and destroy.

John 10:10 “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

Jesus says he has come so we can have life AND that we may have it more abundantly. He loves us. He had a design and plan for our life before we were even born. Jeremiah 29:11 KJV “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil to give you an expected end.” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV “For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11 says it. God knows the plans he has for us. He created us. Everyone was born with a purpose. No one born is a mistake. Have you ever thought, I’d be better off if I’d never been born? I think at one point or another that thought has crossed all of our minds. It makes me think about, It’s a Wonderful Life. The character John gets to see what the world would be like without him. He sees how the town changes and how the people are negatively affected by him not being alive. He realizes that he has a purpose. He had a reason to be born.

Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.”

God knew you and who you were going to be before you were born. He designed you with a purpose. So many of us never carry out our purpose. I challenge you to seek God’s purpose for you. Ask him and really listen. Read and pray every day. Trust God to supply you with what you need for your calling and your purpose.

Love in Christ,

Iva

Leave a comment