Paths

Proverbs 3:6 “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

As a little girl I can remember going to the park with my Mamaw & Papaw Nickels. They had 7-8 grand kids and a dog walking the paths with them. I would watch them and their steps and try to walk the same as them and try to step in the same spots they stepped. I looked up to them and wanted to follow their every move. Kids tend to mock everything their parents and grandparents do.

As we get older we follow other people too. From the time we go to school to when we graduate there is this pressure to follow the crowd. It is even present in adulthood! Everyone wants to be liked, so we beg our parents for certain brands of clothes and shoes. I know I did. In the 4th grade I begged my parents for a pair of Adidas shoes. They were expensive and cost my parents a few items they needed but I didn’t care. You weren’t cool if you didn’t have the shoes. I’ve even gone as far as doing everything as someone else even when I didn’t really want to because she said if you didn’t, then you couldn’t be her friend.

I look back on my life and think about all the times I’ve followed the wrong people down the wrong paths. It’s easy to do when you spend all your time looking down and around instead of up. I’ve looked at outward things, like clothes, shoes, the way I look and how much I weighed as what defines me and what path to follow. I should have been looking inside knowing that what is inside matters more than what’s outside. I should have been looking to God.

I’ve said all that to say, let’s take a stand. Be who you are and know that God made you the way you are for a reason. Trying to be someone else will lead you down the wrong path. Seek out what paths you should take. Pray and read the bible. They will be your map to your path! Let Jesus be your guide.

All of my life I’ve wondered what God wanted me to be. I’ve wondered why I didn’t look better or why I was so tall. Sunday evening I decided to surrender ALL to God.We had a wonderful missionary speak about when she gave God her ALL. I prayed that God would use me and my husband as his vessels. I wanted to do His will for my life. I wanted to give ALL of me to Him. My husband and I prayed together. We have both been praying and asking God to reveal what His calling was for us. Sunday night at our church camp my husband and I got our answer. He announced his call to preach. I always felt that God had big plans for my husband and myself. The devil fought us so much when we first got married. He did everything he could to tare us down. Thankfully we clung to our savior, held on and stood out ground. We’ve been married for almost 3 years now. I’m glad I chose Jesus as my savior and allowed him to direct my paths. If not I wouldn’t have married the right man and wouldn’t have been able to do God’s calling on my life. We can finally do what God has called us to do and I couldn’t be more excited.

I’ve prayed about this blog a lot. God kept telling me that I needed to do it. I decided Sunday night I was going to start it no matter what. I have a desire to help others. I know it’s hard to give God your ALL, but it is worth it. You will be happier and healthier by obeying God and letting him be your guide in life.

Love in Christ,

Iva Mae

20130716-234615.jpg

Leave a comment